Lormont : Neighbourhood & Génicart square

Making neighbourhoods better places to live
Renovation of public spaces
Childrens play
Sports equipment
Neighbourhood square

Project manager :
DOMOFRANCE
BASE + LAN
+ BETEREM BET + FBC HQE

Budget / 19 M€
Surface area / 7 ha
Completion / 2014

Located in Lormont, on the right bank of Bordeaux, the Génicart square is located in the middle of a large housing estate which dates from the 1960s.

Alongside the refurbishment of the buildings, new green spaces, sports equipment and circulation networks are established around this new convivial space. The square and its surroundings have completely transformed the neighbourhood, which has become an entirely pedestrianised contemporary space. Parking has been reconfigured and roads have been transformed into meeting areas or pedestrian routes thanks to the reuse of the car park buried under the square.

Redesign, upgrade and re-establishment of planting at the base of the buildings improves access. The vis-à-vis is managed with a new planting strategy with residential units set back from the roads and public paths. In the center of the neighbourhood between the three remaining towers, there is a new esplanade; Place Gernicart.

This composition is unprecedented. The initial plan for the square was to plant trees and create a space to relax. Now with its unique 4m high belvedere, the residents have a terrace which overlooks the neighborhood. From here they have a full view of theHeadquarters“.

Urban renewal – other projects :

Lormont : Quartier & place Génicart Sud

Résidentialisation
Réfection d’espaces publics
Jeux d’enfants
Équipements sportifs
Place de quartier

Maître d’ouvrage :
DOMOFRANCE
BASE + LAN
+ BETEREM BET + FBC HQE

Budget / 19 M€
Surface / 7 ha
Livraison / 2014

Situé à Lormont, sur la rive droite de Bordeaux, la place Génicart est située au milieu d’un grand ensemble datant des années 60.

Associés à la réfection des bâtiments, de nouveaux espaces verts, des équipements de sports et de nouvelles circulations accompagnent ce nouvel espace de convivialité. La place et ses abords ont totalement transformé le quartier, devenu un espace contemporain entièrement piéton. Les stationnements ont été reconfigurés. Des voies sont passées en zones de rencontre ou en circulations piétonnes grâce à la remise en service du parking enterré sous la place.

Les pieds d’immeubles sont replantés, redessinés, remis à niveau afin de minimiser les contraintes pour les allers et venus quotidiens. Les vis-à-vis sont gérés avec de nouvelles plantations, et des mises à distances sont mises en place devant les habitations, le long des voies et des passages publics. Au centre du quartier, entre les trois tours restantes, la place Gernicart offre une nouvelle esplanade.
Cette configuration est inédite, la place initialement prévue offrait un espace de détente agrémentée de quelques arbres. Cette place est unique en son genre avec son belvédère à 4 m du sol, offrant aux habitants une terrasse en surplomb sur le quartier, avec une pleine vue sur le « Quartier général« .

Rénovation urbaine – autres projets :