St-Nazaire – Sports Grounds

Phased urban and landscape project management
Parvis
Planted promenade
Vegetated hills
Leisure activities
Free space
Wooden furniture

Contractor :
Mairie de Saint Nazaire

BASE mandataire
+ Arcadis
+ Sport Initiative

Saint Nazaire / Loire Atlantique
Budget / 2 M€
surface / 20 ha
Guide – Plan / 2015-2016
Project management / 2016-2020

Between the Cité Scolaire and the Park, La Plaine brings together buildings housing multidisciplinary sports facilities, a multipurpose area (the Saucer), approved grounds for licensed sport and administrative buildings.

This sports area, near the city center, attracts nearly 30,000 users and brings together nearly 140 sports and leisure organisations. The non equipped area of the project site represents an interstitial surface of more than 50% of the total surface of the site, making  up 10.9 ha. This space has significant potential. It is intended to become a freely appropriable public space on the Plain: it will accommodate free play, sports or leisure, picnic areas, but also functional spaces and parking areas on the edge of the site. The project also offers an opportunity to build a link with the great metropolitan green belt.

 

This ‘reconquest’ by the introduction of uses and routes is intrinsically underpinned by the reestablishment of soil permeability and fertility which supports the landscape framework and the development of vegetation and stormwater management.

Sports & jeux – autres projets :

St-Nazaire – Plaine des Sports

Moe urbaine et paysagère par phases
Parvis
Promenade plantée
Buttes végétales
Loisirs
Pratiques libres
Mobilier bois

Maître d’ouvrage :
Mairie de Saint Nazaire

BASE mandataire
+ Arcadis
+ Sport Initiative

Saint Nazaire / Loire Atlantique
Budget / 2 M€
surface / 20 ha
Plan-Guide / 2015-2016
Moe / 2016-2020

Entre la Cité Scolaire et le Parc Paysager, La Plaine regroupe des équipements sportifs pluridisciplinaires bâtis, un lieu polyvalent (la Soucoupe), des terrains homologués pour sportifs licenciés et des bâtiments administratifs.

Ce domaine sportif, à proximité du centre-ville, attire près de 30 000 utilisateurs et rassemble près de 140 organismes sportifs et de loisirs. Le site du projet, non équipé, représente une surface interstitielle de plus de 50% de la surface totale du site soit 10,9 ha. Cet espace, au potentiel important, a vocation à devenir l’espace public librement appropriable de la Plaine : il accueillera la pratique libre ludique ou sportive, des aires de pique-nique, mais également des espaces fonctionnels et des aires de stationnement en frange du site. C’est aussi l’opportunité de constituer un important maillon de la grande coulée verte métropolitaine.

Cette reconquête par l’insertion d’usages et de parcours est intrinsèquement sous-tendue par la reconquête de la perméabilité et de la fertilité des sols qui permet le redéploiement d’une armature paysagère dans des conditions favorables au développement de la végétation et à la gestion aérienne des eaux pluviales.

Sports & jeux – autres projets :